This is our first report from the Beechwood Ministry Area since its official formation and licensing by Bishop Cherry. ? More of an info post than anything else, we just wanted to let you know that the Ministry Area Council (MAC … this is now our grouped churches’ PCC) has now met and elected officers and portfolio holders, who are as follows:

Chair: The Rev’d Dr. William Ingle-Gillis (Rector)

Lay Co-chair: Philippa Dixey (Christchurch)

Vicar’s Warden: Melville Friend (Lliswerry)

People’s Warden: Haydn Dewar (Christchurch)

Secretary: Wendy Matthews (St. Julian’s)

Treasurer: Pat Ward (St. Julian’s)

Health & Safety: Linda Blanch (Maindee)

Pastoral Care: Thelma Harries & Judith Hayward (Alway)

Ministry to Young People: Sue Batey (Caerleon)

Mission & Outreach: Amanda Berry (Lliswerry)

Fabric & Faculties: Roy Wigmore (Maindee) & Tim Ford (Caerleon)

In addition, MA clergy sit on the MAC ex officio:

The Rev’d Linda Batt

The Rev’d Stephen Blewett

The Rev’d Samuel Helkvist

The Rev’d David Matthews

The Rev’d Sue Pratten

Much of the rest of the meeting – as a first go after the creation of the new structure – was taken up with putting structures and procedures in place. One hopes that these meetings will soon become more strategic, inspirational, and aspirational as the new situation beds in. But … step by step …

For those interested in knowing about the whole record, we will make the minutes available shortly.

God bless,




No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

No comments to show.
BMA Newsletter Subscription